Working Groups

The UK Council for Graduate Education has established working groups associated with key topics affecting the postgraduate sector

UKCGE groups are formed of colleagues from UK HEIs professional bodies and other organisations working within the postgraduate sector.

The wide ranging membership ensures that all views across the postgraduate sector inform the conclusions of each group. Each of the groups report through a publication (or similar) every 12–18 months and where relevant, host discussion sessions on the outcomes, recommendations and conclusions that have been drawn.

Past working groups

Working Group Members

Simon Ells (Chair)University of Birmingham
Charlotte ChamberlainYork GSA
Carlos De LunaUniversity of East London
Chris EdwardsLancaster University
Sarah EdwardsStrathclyde University
Jennie EldridgeUniversity Alliance
Sally Ann GannonUniversity of Cambridge
Nicola Cooper HarveyUniversity of Oxford
Heather HillUniversity of Nottingham
Jane JohnstonUniversity of Edinburgh
Mark KellyQueen’s University Belfast
Anwen WilliamsCardiff University
Adam WrightThe British Academy

Working Group Members

Parmjit Dhugga (Chair)University of Nottingham
Dr Fiona Denney (Vice-Chair)Brunel University & UKCGE
Dr Richard HinchcliffeFreelance Researcher Developer & UKCGE
Prof Barbara DooleyUniversity College Dublin
Dr Yannis FronimosUniversity of East London
Sarah BellUniversity of Sheffield
Dr John TurnpennyUniversity of East Anglia
Dr Katryna KalawskyLoughborough University
Dr Mikel MellickCardiff Metropolitan University
Laura LaneImperial College London
Amberlee GreenUMHAN
Rachel PiperStudent Minds
Victoria SinclairNightline

Working Group Members

  • Professor Rosemary Deem | Vice-Principal and Dean of the Doctoral School, Royal Holloway University of London
  • Dr Jason Arday | Director of Student Recruitment and Experience, and Senior Teaching Fellow at the Centre for Education Studies University of Warwick
  • Dr Karis Campion | Research Associate | Centre on Dynamics of Ethnicity (CoDE), The University of Manchester
  • Dr Aviah Sarah Day | Research Assistant on Sexual Violence at Festivals Project, Durham Law School, Durham University
  • Professor Uvanney Maylor | Institute for Research in Education, University of Bedfordshire
  • Professor Lubna Nasir | School of Veterinary Medicine, College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences, University of Glasgow

Convene a UKCGE Working Group 

If you would like to set up a UKCGE Working Group on an issue affecting the postgraduate sector, please let us know 
Get in touch